Innovation Stories

Innovation Stories from the R&D Community

We asked for your innovation stories and the repsonse was great! Check out some awesome tales of invention and ideation from your peers in the R&D community....

2016 Submissions are Now Open!

2016 R&D 100 Awards Entries Now Open!

Take the first step toward a prestigious R&D 100 Award by submitting your new product or service!

R&D 100 Flashback: Giving Your Engine a Boost

Maxwell Technologies Engine Start Module (ESM) won an R&D 100 Award in 2012.

R&D 100 Award Flashback Series

Abbott’s Absorb: A Bioresorbable Arterial Scaffold

This edition of the R&D 100 Flashback features Abbott’s Absorb, which won the R&D 100 Award in 2013.

2016 R&D 100 Awards Submissions is Closed

Submit your latest product today and capture the prestige and momentum created by winning an R&D 100 Award!

Now in its 54th year of honoring the very best in technology innovation, the R&D 100 Awards are your opportunity to:

  • take your place among the leaders in innovation on a global stage
  • honor your team for developing one of the most noteworthy and significant new products/technology/services of the past 12 months (introduced to the market between January 1, 2015 and March 31, 2016)
  • gain a significant marketing boost from the award recognized as the "Oscars of Invention"
  • maximize the investment of time and resources you have made to develop and launch your product
  • be part of a program that has honored many of the leading minds in invention, including Dean Kamen, Elon Musk, Larry Page, Buzz Aldrin, astronaut Scott J. Kelly, Kary Mullis, and Hugh Herr



2016 Submission Period is Closed


And mark your calendar to join us for the
2016 R&D 100 Awards & Technology Conference:


November 3-4, 2016
Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
Oxon Hill, Maryland (Washington, DC)


2015 Innovation Hall Participants


Submission Period is Closed

We'll be announcing the finalists later this summer

2015 Winners


2015 Photos, Plaques & Logos

R&D 100 Award Videos

Astronaut Scott Kelly, The R&D Magazine 2015 Scientist of the Year
Science and technology industry leaders watched with rapt attention as Astronaut Scott Kelly accepted the R&D Magazine Scientist of the Year Award from his perch in the International Space Station (ISS) above the Earth.

The video acceptance speech riveted the audience as Kelly thanked R&D Magazine for this special award and explained the International Space Station (ISS) Year in Space mission. Watch Scott Kelly's acceptance speech here.